Chemistry Diagnostic Test

CHEM 1A and CHEM 4A have a Prerequisite of CHEM 42. Students who think they may be ready for CHEM 1A or CHEM 4A without completing CHEM 42 should take the Chemistry Diagnostic Test and complete the Review Questionnaire Form. 

This is not a Placement Test. It is for students wanting to take CHEM 1A or 4A, but have not satisfied the prerequisite. Approval for CHEM 1A or 4A without CHEM 42 is based on the Chemistry Diagnostic Review Questionnaire and Test.

Login to the Student Portal to make an appointment in Quick Links, or contact Student Success and Assessment Services at 707-527-4661

The Chemistry Department Chair will review the petition request within 3 business days; and the results will be posted in My Cubby under Challenges and Equivalencies.

  • Receive 45 minutes to take the Chemistry Diagnostic Test and additional minutes to complete the Review Questionnaire
  • There are 44 test questions
  • Periodic Table is listed in the computer program
  • Scientific non-graphing calculator and scratch paper are provided
  • Students may take the test twice per semester

Chemistry Testing Schedule
Date Start Time Location 
Tuesday, September 4 2:30 pm Petaluma Campus, Jacobs Hall PC128
Monday, September 17 10:00 am Petaluma Campus, Jacobs Hall PC128
Thursday, October 4 10:00 am Petaluma Campus, Jacobs Hall PC128
Thursday, October 4 10:30 am Santa Rosa Campus, Plover Hall Room 531
Wednesday, October 17 6:00 pm Petaluma Campus, Jacobs Hall PC128
Monday, October 29 2:30 pm Santa Rosa Campus, Plover Hall Room 531
Monday, November 5 2:00 pm Santa Rosa Campus, Plover Hall Room 531
Thursday, November 8 10:00 am Petaluma Campus, Jacobs Hall Room 531
Wednesday, November 21 9:30 am Santa Rosa Campus, Plover Hall Room 531
Wednesday, November 21 3:00 pm Petaluma Campus, Jacobs Hall Room 531
Tuesday, December 4 9:00 am Santa Rosa Campus, Plover Hall Room 531
Wednesday, December 5 3:00 pm Petaluma Campus, Jacobs Hall Room 531
Monday, December 10 2:00 pm Santa Rosa Campuus, Plover Hall Room 531
Tuesday, December 18 10:00 am Petaluma Campus, Jacobs Hall Room 531